The Education Awards

posted on

The Education Awards, sponsored by East Lancashire Newspapers, saw young people and teachers join us at Burnley College for a fantastic celebratory event.

More than 200 guests, including the Mayor and Mayoress of Burnley Council and Mrs Andy Tatchell and Burnley MP Gordon Birtwistle attended the evening which celebrated the achievements of schools throughout the area. Opening the event, Burnley College sixth form vice-principal Alison Cameron-Brandwood praised the dedication of the area’s teachers and pupils, highlighting the importance of a good education as a “gateway to a brighter future”. Closing the evening, East Lancashire Newspapers’ group editor Chris Daggett said: “Our area now has first-class education facilities and we also have first-class teachers and pupils. “Everyone here this evening for the Education Awards is an example of all that is good about our corner of Lancashire. “We are starting to make real progress and giving our young people the tools they need to build a better future for themselves.”

The Education Awards Winners

Primary School Pupil of the Year: Ethan and Declan Bastable, Brunshaw Primary School. Finalists: Jay Bowman, St James’ Lanehead; Misty Taylor, Waddington and West Bradford CE. Secondary School Pupil of the Year: Jack Holmes, Shuttleworth College. Finalists: Josh Connor, Colne Primet; Keaton Newcombe-Dixon, Hameldon Community College; Justyna Miloszevska, Fisher More. Sustainable School of the Year: Waddington and West Bradford CE Primary School. Finalists: Lomeshaye Junior School; Barnoldswick CE Primary; Coates Lane Primary; Gisburn Road Primary; St Joseph’s RC Primary. Inspirational Teaching Award: Matthew Calvert, Colne Primet Academy. Finalists: Claire Halstead, St Mary’s RC Primary; Nicola Boon, Coates Lane Primary; Susan Prior, Fisher More. Sports Achievement: Moorland School. Finalists: Colne Park High; St John Southworth RC Primary. Health and Wellbeing Award: Cribden House Community Special School. Finalists: Barrowford Primary School; Brunshaw Primary School. Educational Tours Award: Hameldon Community College. Finalists: Ridgewood Community College; Lomeshaye Junior School. Unsung Hero: Joe Winkley, Fisher More Catholic Humanities College. Finalists: Colne Primet Academy; Destiny and Ayesha, Blessed Trinity RC College. Primary School of the Year: Holly Grove. Finalists: Waddington and West Bradford CE Primary; Barrowford Primary. Secondary School of the Year: Fisher More Catholic Humanities College. Finalists: Ribblesdale High School; Blessed Trinity RC College.
Source Url: http://www.burnley.ac.uk/education-awards/
| Categories: clearing | Tags: awards , The Education Awards | View Count: (1631) | Return